Jochen Bocksnick, Deb Marek, Cheryl Meheden, Nancy Walker - 2013

Thanks to the dedicated volunteer work of these four individuals, for four days in July 2012 over 2600 athletes came to Lethbridge to compete in the 2012 Alberta Summer Games. Nancy Walker, Deb Marek, Cheryl Mededen, and Jochen Bocksnick sat on the Board of Directors for the games as well as managing their own specific portfolios. They began preparation for the games over two years before the event, and each played an important role inorganizing the games. The Games were a success due to the contributions of these individuals, as well as hundreds of other volunteers, amny of whom included University employees and students.

Nancy Walker was the Director of Administration for the games, responsible for managing the budget and brokering all contracts and legal agreements. Nancy is currently the U of L's Vice President (Finance and Administration), and has extensive community volunteer experience.

As Director of Facilities, Deb marek ensured that the sports and activities of the games had a venue. She also supervised all signage, portable facilities, and warhousing. At the U of L, Deb Marek is a Manager in Sport and Recreation Services, and has been the assistant coach to the women's hockey team.

Cheryl Meheden's responsibilities as Director of Protocol included managing opening ceremonies, official receptions, hospitality, games attire, medals, participant entertainment, and the torch relay. Cheryl is currently an instructor at the University of Lethbridge, in the Dhillon School of Business, and at Lethbridge College.

Guided by the Alberta Summer Games' mission to provide the best possible experience for all involved, Director of Sport Jochen Bocksnick ensured that the games offered the best venues and sport chairs. Jochen is an instructor in Kinesiology and Physical Education at the U of L.

The 2012 Alberta Summer Games were a huge success, with over 2600 athletes participating in 15 sports over the four days, watched by over 7000 spectators. All four of these volunteers committed hundreds of hours to make this success happen, demonstrating exceptional leadership and commitment. The Senate of the University of Lethbridge is proud to recognize their service with the 2013 University of Lethbridge Volunteer Award.