Speaker Research Award

The Office of the Vice-President (Research) is soliciting nominations for the 2020 Speaker Research Award competition. Applications should be submitted electronically, with the subject “Speaker Research Award” to ORIS (oris@uleth.ca) by January 31, 2020. After this date, incomplete applications will not be considered. If letters of support are submitted in hard copy, please send to the Office of Research and Innovation Services to the attention of Penny Pickles.

The Speaker Medal for Distinguished Research, Scholarship or Performance (Speaker Research Award) was established at the University of Lethbridge in December 1994 by Chancellor Ingrid Speaker under the auspices of the President. The medal is in recognition of the central importance of research, scholarship and performance to the philosophy and goals of the University of Lethbridge and to provide recognition to those members of the academic staff who excel in these areas. The award is open to all full and part-time members of the academic staff currently employed at the University of Lethbridge, or in the case of retired academic staff members, to those who have a contract agreement with the University.

Terms of Reference

The Speaker Medal for Distinguished Research, Scholarship or Performance (Speaker Research Award) is an endowment fund to award medals for distinguished research, scholarship, or performance by a member of the academic staff. The medal may be awarded at Convocation in the Spring or Fall. A selection committee will annually call for and review nominations, from among nominees provided by members of the university community, and select the recipient. The recipient's name will be included in a list of medal recipients to be published in the University Calendar. The award need not be made if there is no suitable candidate.


Note: "research" is being used as an overarching term to describe the activities of research, scholarship, and performance. The three main criteria used for the Committee's assessment of the nominees are:

  • The quality of the research.
  • The impact of the research on the advancement of the field, both nationally and internationally.
  • The distinction which the research has brought to The University of Lethbridge.

Nomination Procedures

Nominations of a member of the academic staff (faculty, academic assistants, and professional librarians) may be made by any member of the university community. The permission of the nominee should be obtained prior to making the nomination.

The nomination package must include:

  • The nomination form,
  • A letter from the nominator speaking to the nominee's research activity in relation to the required criteria,
  • A letter of support from a member of the U of L academic community,
  • Three external letters of support (but with no close collegial or trainee link to the nominee) speaking to the nominee's fit when compared against the evaluation criteria, and
  • A current curriculum vitae of the nominee.

The complete set of nomination materials should be submitted Research and Innovation Services, attention: Speaker Research Award Selection Committee. The deadline for receipt of nominations is: January 31, 2018. Nominations which are incomplete as of this deadline will be returned to the nominator.

Selection Committee

Members of the Selection Committee are appointed by the President and normally shall consist of:

Affiliation 2020 Representative
Chair - Vice-President (Research) or designate Erasmus Okine
Current recipient Olga Kovalchuk
Five members of the academic staff, appointed by the individual faculties representing a broad range of disciplinary interests TBC (Arts & Science)
Robert Leblanc (Education)
Nicola Elson (Fine Arts)
TBC (Health Sciences)
TBC (Management)
One student, appointed by the Students' Union TBC
One student, appointed by the Graduate Student's Association TBC
One member of Senate, selected by the University Senate Malcolm Clewes
One (1) member of the Alumni Association, selected by the Alumni Association Lyndsay Montina

To provide continuity, members are initially assigned to either a: one-, two-, or three-year terms which is staggered.

Committee Action Following Nomination

Nomination materials are retained for a period of two years from the date of receipt and are included in all deliberations during that two-year-period. Thus, once nominated, a member of the academic staff is automatically considered for an award in each of two years provided that the member retains a position at the University. Additional materials may be submitted by the nominee at any time during the two-year period.

Further, the Committee will invite nominators, if they choose, to replace a previous year's original nomination package if additional information has since become available that strengthens the nominee's case.

Finally, the Committee carefully reviews each nomination in respect to the Awards criteria and through a fair process, selects the recipient. Only one recipient is awarded per year.