Honorary degree nominations sought

The University of Lethbridge Senate is collecting nominees for its Spring and Fall 2010 honorary degree awards, and is appealing to southern Alberta community groups to nominate individuals who have made a local, regional or world-wide impact on society.

"The people we honour are making a difference to their communities, charitable organizations, or society in some way," says Elisha Rasmussen, chair of the Senate Honorary Degree Nominating Committee.

"Our honorary degrees reflect the multi-faceted fabric of southern Alberta, Canada and many countries world-wide. By bringing these individuals to Lethbridge to celebrate with our graduands and their families, we enrich the convocation experience for all."

On Oct. 17, at its 2009 Fall Convocation ceremony, the University will honour two individuals from vastly different walks of life, but who share a common interest in helping people.

"Educator, politician, and humanitarian Son Soubert runs homes for over 200 students and works to establish responsible politics in his home country of Cambodia, while Calgary-based award-winning Canadian singer/songwriter Paul Brandt works on behalf of several local and global humanitarian efforts," Rassmussen says. "It is not likely that these people would meet if it weren't for the U of L."

Others from the southern Alberta community have also been touched by an honorary degree, and have reinforced the University's commitment to seek out people who are worthy recipients.

"Being the recipient of an honorary degree from an outstanding university like the University of Lethbridge was a humbling experience for me and one of the greatest occasions in my life, one that I will always cherish," says Dr. Roelof Heinen, LLD, a Picture Butte resident and community supporter who received his honorary degree in 2008.

To be eligible for Spring and Fall 2010 Convocations, nominations must be received by Nov. 1, 2009 at the University Senate Office, 4401 University Drive, Lethbridge, Alberta T1K 3M4. To obtain a nomination form, call the Senate Office at 403-329-2482.

Recipients are selected by the University of Lethbridge Senate from nominees provided by members of the general public and the University community. The Senate is empowered to confer honorary degrees by the Universities Act of Alberta.

Additional information is available at the Senate website: