Campus Kudos - February

Jeff Davidson (Economics) was named teacher of the year by the Prairie Baseball Academy (PBA) at the PBA's 2011 Athletic & Educational Awards banquet. The PBA is a post-secondary baseball program that plays out of Lethbridge's Lloyd Nolan Yard complex. Its athletes attend school at both the University of Lethbridge and Lethbridge College.

Juliet Graham (Art Gallery) assumes the role of gallery registrar on Mar. 1. She has been working on gallery conservation contracts for the past two years.

Jeffrey Coffman (MA '10, Political Science sessional instructor) was elected to Lethbridge City Council following a special by-election on Feb. 1. Coffman joins a group of University alumni on council, including mayor Rajko Dodic (BASc '78), and aldermanic members Jeff Carlson (BFA '92), Liz Iwaskiw (BASc '77), Joe Mauro (BASc '83) and Bridget (Pastoor) Mearns (BA '95).

Dr. Anne Dymond (Art) presented "Gender Counts in Contemporary Art" in the Women Scholars Speaker Series in January. Despite the contemporary art world's reputation for being cutting-edge and alternative, Dymond's analysis of the gender of contemporary artist's solo exhibitions in Canada reveals that certain art institutions still fall far short of achieving gender parity.

Dr. David Clearwater's (New Media) essay, Zap the Iraqoids: War, Video Games and Perception Management, is included in the anthology, Iraq War Cultures, edited by Cynthia Fuchs and Joe Lockard, and published by Peter Lang Publishing. In addition, his essay, Living in a Militarized Culture: War, Games and the Experience of U.S. Empire, was included in a special edition of TOPIA: Canadian Journal of Cultural Studies. The double-issue (vol. 23-24, 2010) is titled, Cultures of Militarization, and is published by Wilfrid Laurier University Press and Cape Breton University Press.

University of Lethbridge staff and faculty contributed more than $14,000 to the United Way through the annual Cash Calendar campaign and a payroll deduction program. The search is on for a Chair for next year's campaign. Anyone interested can contact Barb Erler at

Tyson Ford (Pre-Engineering student) of Chinook, Alta. and Gianfranco Terrazzano (Economics student) of Coquitlam, B.C. were both named to the Prairie Baseball Academy's 2011 All-Academic Team.

Kris McLaughlin (BFA '03) was recently named Developer of the Year. He works work for The Vacuum, which is owned by fellow alumnus Nate Smith (BFA '02). The Community Campaign of the Year (NFB Test Tube with David Suzuki), was also developed by The Vacuum, which is headquartered in Nelson, B.C.

Dr. Susan McDaniel (Sociology), director of the Prentice Institute and Prentice Research Chair in global population & economy, was elected to the executive of the Royal Society of Canada, Academy II. McDaniel will serve as the secretary to the academy.

Dr. Janet Youngdahl (Music) presented a concert and lecture at, Alive by Her Own Hand: Women Composers As Performers of Their Work, a fest-conference at Brandeis University (Boston) in February. In January, Youngdahl presented a paper at the National Meeting of the MLA (Modern Language Association) in Los Angeles.

Trudi Mason, Dr. Thomas Staples and Nick Sullivan (Music) performed with the U of L Faculty Brass Quintet at a Lethbridge Symphony Chamber Series concert in January.

Dr. Olga Kovalchuk (Biological Sciences) was named a 2011 Woman of Distinction by YWCA Lethbridge and District. Nominated in the Community Leader category, Kovalchuk will be honoured at the Mar. 18 Women of Distinction Awards Ceremony at the Lethbridge Lodge. Former U of L Senate member, Cheryl Dick, will also be honoured in the Community Commitment classification. Dick is the chief executive officer for Economic Development Lethbridge.

Dr. Rolf Boon (Music) is the guest composer and lecturer at the Canadian National Conservatory of Music (CNCM) Conference, July 18-20 in Toronto. He'll perform his works for piano published by the CNCM and conduct workshops in composition for senior students and teachers. Boon also has one of his compositions on the Tonus Vivus – Society for New Music CD, Cult Figures: Electroacoustic Music from Canada, which has been chosen by Naxos America as one of the best CDs of 2010.

J-P Christopher Jackson's (professor emeritus) composition, Badlands, was performed at the Lethbridge Symphony's 50th anniversary concert in February.

Nicholas Hanson (Drama) and Jeremy Mason (BFA '05) co-authored, Marooned with Munsch, which premiered at New West Theatre.

Joseph Anderson's (BFA '00) work was part of an exhibition entitled, Wonderment, at Saskatoon's Mendel Gallery.