Winners of the 2018 Chinook Symposium for Chemistry & Biochemistry

This notice is from the archives of The Notice Board. Information contained in this notice was accurate at the time of publication but may no longer be so.

12th Annual Chinook Symposium for Chemistry & Biochemistry

 The 12th annual Chinook Symposium was organized on September 28, 2018 by Susan Hill, Susan Findlay and Trushar Patel at the University of Lethbridge. It was a resounding success, featuring research conducted at the University of Lethbridge by high school, undergraduate and graduate students as well as by postdoctoral fellows and the Collegiate iGEM (international Genetic Engineering Machines) team.

The first Chinook Symposium was organized by Hans-Joachim Wieden, Marc Roussel and Susan Hill in 2007 and has grown over the years. This year, 46 posters were presented, compared to 22  posters at the inaugural event in 2007.  We have also been fortunate enough to involve the community at large, and guest judges have included local high school teachers, politicians and business people including 2018 Alumnus of the Year of the University of Lethbridge, Bill Spenceley.

The scope of the event has also grown with time.  Initially, eight cash prizes were awarded – to the top two students each in BSc Biochemistry, BSc Chemistry, MSc Biochemistry and MSc Chemistry. 

In 2012, a Rookie award was added to recognize students presenting at a conference for the first time.   

In 2013 a PhD division was added.  Initially, the winner was awarded a plaque for the Lorne Hepler Gold Medal for PhD Research Excellence.  In 2016, the PhD division was also divided by discipline, and cash prizes were awarded to the top two presenters in Biochemistry and in Chemistry.

In 2017 and 2018, the Canadian Journal of Chemistry generously sponsored two Canadian Journal of Chemistry Awards for Best Student Presentation, one at the undergraduate level and one at the graduate level.  This brings the prize count to fourteen cash prizes as well as a certificate for top Rookie.

Winners of the 12th Chinook Symposium are:


Chemistry           1st           Jaira Ranger (Rookie of the Year)
                             2nd         Janelle Bykowski

Biochemistry      1st           Hope Vienneau
                             2nd          Sydnee Calhoun


Chemistry           1st          Priya Bhutani
                             2nd          Desmond Chisholm

Biochemistry      1st          Elijah Dueck
                              2nd          Colyn Cleland


Chemistry           1st          Dylan Webb
                             2nd          Ryan Kung

Biochemistry      1st           Taylor Sheahan
                             2nd         Dustin Smith

 Canadian Journal of Chemistry Award for Best Student Presentation

Undergraduate                 Jaira Ranger

Graduate                             Elijah Dueck

We thank Dr. Craig Cooper (Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science) and Canadian Journal of Chemistry for sponsoring refreshments and prizes for this event. We also thank all the judges and participants, without whom this incredible event won’t be possible.

For more information, please contact Susan Hill, Susan Findlay or Trushar Patel, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Lethbridge.


Susan Hill | | (403) 329-2301