Friends of Health Sciences Award

Friends of Health Sciences Award LogoThe Faculty of Health Sciences annually recognizes an individual who exemplifies outstanding support of the mission and goals of the Faculty. Past recipients include a rich variety of individuals who have directly or indirectly made a distinguished contribution to health education and research in the Faculty of Health Sciences.

Recipients may be selected from within the university or from the external community and nominators may be members of the university or the wider community of southern Alberta.


Vivien Suttorp
2019 - Vivien Suttorp for exemplifying the values of her profession and reminding us all that public health is everyone’s concern. [Read more]
Jerry Singleton
2018 - Jerome F. Singleton for the development of the Bachelor of Therapeutic Recreation program and his promotion of the program both in Alberta and eastern Canada. [Read more]
Joyce D'Andrea
2017 - Joyce D'Andrea for her dedication to nursing education, supporting and mentoring generations of students over a nursing career of five decades. [Read more]
Diane Shanks
2016 - Diane Shanks for her remarkable and inspirational commitment to registered nursing and nurse leadership and education. [Read more]
Susan Christenson and Esther Tailfeathers
2015 - Susan Christenson & Esther Tailfeathers who have worked tirelessly to improve health and further health education in Kainai Nation in light of the fentanyl crisis that continues to affect our province. [Read more]
Edward McNally
2014 - Edward McNally for his support of graduate nursing education through his generous funding of the Margaret Elliot McNally scholarships for all students in the M.Sc (Nursing) from 2007 – 2014. [Read more]
Aaron Maluwa
2013 - Aaron Maluwa, Malawi Museums, for his outstanding work creating a vital learning experience for students who participate in our biennial field study course in Malawi. [Read more]
Jennifer Penner
2012 - Jennifer Penner for her work creating the Heart Failure Network of informed and vigilant heart failure ‘experts’ working together with patients within transformed processes of care, and a community of practice around heart health. [Read more]
David Gregory
2011 - David Gregory, former Professor in the Faculty of Health Sciences, for his role as an advocate of graduate programming and mentorship of early career colleagues.
Bill Cade
2010 - Bill Cade, President Emeritus, for his longtime support of Health Sciences, particularly through the process of integrating Health sciences into the Markin Hall Planning, and the transformation of the School of Health Sciences into a Faculty.