CFUW - Aboriginal Women's Award

Award Quick Look

Deadline: Tuesday, December 14, 2021

Amount: 10,000

Student Status: Full Time

Type: External


  • Canadian
  • Permanent Resident


  • Doctor of Philosophy
  • Master of Arts
  • Master of Counselling
  • Master of Education
  • Master of Fine Arts
  • Master of Music
  • Master of Nursing
  • Master of Science
  • Master of Science in Management


  • School of Graduate Studies

This award was designed to honour Dr. Marion Elder Grant's life-long commitment to education of women. Dr. Grant has an outstanding record of leadership as the 11th CFUW President (1949-52), CFUW Wolfville President, and Dean of Women and Professor of Psychology, Acadia University.

Each year, CFUW provides a range of post-graduate awards and fellowships to women through its Charitable Trust Fund. The CFUW Fellowships and Awards Program is an affirmative action program as provided for in the Constitution of Canada and eligibility is restricted to women.


  • December 14, 2021 11:59p.m. EST


  • $10,000-25,000 (renewable)


  • Canadian status or non-status Indian (or First Nations), Inuit and Métis women who self-identify as such.
  • Eligible programs: are the academic programs for which a CFUW AWA Applicant (or Renewal Applicant) may be studying. They include:
    1. Programs leading to a first degree in law – Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.); Juris Doctor (J.D.).
    2. Programs leading to the following first degrees in medicine – Medical Doctor (M.D.); Doctor of Optometry (O.D.).
    3. Programs leading to qualifying for a license to practice as a Nurse Practitioner in the province or territory of the graduate’s choice.
    4. Programs leading to a Master’s degree in fields dealing with important Canadian aboriginal issues at the time the AWA is given as defined by the most recent Canadian report by the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the rights of indigenous peoples.

For guidelines and application forms visit the CFUW webite