COVID-19 resources | Our faculty and staff are committed to providing you an exceptional learning experience this September.


Graduate Studies in Physics

Positions are available for both MSc and PhD Physics students at the University of Lethbridge. The U of L Physics Department is research intensive – all regular faculty hold Discovery Grants from NSERC. Our department consists of 10 professors and 3 academic assistants, complemented currently by postdoctoral researchers and other research support staff. In Spring  2020, we will have 10 graduate students, a number we are working to increase. A significant number of undergraduate students are also involved in faculty research.

Find out more about current research areas.

Physics graduate study at the U of L offers the advantages of a small, dynamic, expanding department in a smaller university (~8K undergrads), in a small, pleasant city (population ~80K) close to the beautiful Rocky Mountains, with a very reasonable cost of living. Both undergraduate and graduate students enjoy the benefits of extensive and interactive supervision.

Faculty research areas cover a wide variety of topics. Listed below are the department members with independent research programs.

Dr. Saurya Das is a theorist with interests including general relativity, quantum gravity, black hole physics and thermodynamics, quantum computation and quantum information theory.

Dr. Arundhati Dasgupta's
research interests are in the area of quantum gravity. She has used coherent or semi-classical states in quantum gravity to explain physics of black holes and the origin of their thermodynamic behavior.

Dr. David Naylor is an experimental astrophysicist. He is playing major roles in two large astronomy initiatives, one space-based (SPIRE) and the other ground-based (SCUBA2).

Dr. Steve Patitsas is an experimenter in surface physics. His group has built a scanning tunneling microscope (STM), now being used to manipulate individual molecules.

Dr. Adriana Predoi-Cross does laboratory spectroscopic studies of molecular species of atmospheric and astrophysical interest.

Dr. Behnam Seyed-Mahmoud is a geophysicist who studies the dynamics of the Earth’s core and exploration geophysics.

Dr. Locke Spencer is a Tier II Canada Research Chair in Experimental Astrophysics.

Dr. Masami Tatsuno's experimental research is aimed at understanding how REM and non-REM sleep contribute to memory consolidation.

Dr. Ken Vos is a theoretical condensed-matter physicist, working on the theory of strongly correlated electron systems, which include high temperature superconducting materials.

Dr. Mark Walton is a theoretician, who studies conformal field theories, their applications to string theory, and other topics in mathematical physics.

All students admitted to the graduate program can expect excellent financial support. There are opportunities to compete for more generous support in the form of postgraduate scholarships at both the national NSERC and provincial Alberta Ingenuity and Alberta Heritage Fund level.

Applications for M.Sc. and Ph.D. programs require preliminary discussion with prospective faculty advisors. Feel free to e-mail any of the members above, or contact the department chair of graduate studies.

Previous/Retired Faculty

Dr. Keramat Ali - Professor Emeritus

Dr. David Siminovitch - Professor Emeritus

Current Graduate Students Spring 2020 (supervisor):

M.Sc.                                             Supervisor

Adam Christiansen                   David Naylor

Mustafa Hemeida                     Mark Walton

Tony Huber                                 David Naylor

Alissa Kuhn                                 Ken Vos

Akash Patel                                 Arundhati Dasgupta


Ph.D.                                            Supervisor

Christopher Benson                Locke Spencer

Mitja Fridman                           Saurya Das

Md. Kamruzzaman                  Behnam Seyed-Mahmoud

Jeremy Scott                              Locke Spencer

Vasil Nikolaev Tordorinov     Saurya Das           

Graduates (supervisor):

MSc Graduates

Jakovljevic, Cvjetan, MSc Physics, 1996 (M. Walton)
Habot, Simon, MSc Physics, 1998 (D. Siminovitch)
Gom, Bradley, MSc Physics, 1999 (D. Naylor)
Smith, Graeme, MSc Physics, 2000 (D. Naylor)
Chapman, Ian, MSc Physics, 2003 (D. Naylor)
Tahic, Margaret, MSc Physics, 2004 (D. Naylor)
Schofield, Ian, MSc Physics, 2005 (D. Naylor)
Zhou, Jiamin, MSc Chemistry, 2005 (D. Naylor)
Ahmadi, Morteza, MSc Physics, 2006 (S. Das)
Horn, Steven, MSc Physics, 2006 (S. Patitsas)
Lindner, John, MSc Physics, 2006 (D. Naylor)
Liu, Weiming, MSc Physics, 2006 (S. Patitsas)
Maraghechi, Pouya, MSc Physics, 2006 (S. Patitsas)
Tipper, J. Mark, MSc Physics, 2006 (K. Vos)
Okeke, Nnamdi, MSc Physics, 2006 (M. Walton)
Querel, Richard, MSc Physics, 2007 (D. Naylor)
Vasudeva, Anildev, MSc Physics, 2007 (A. Predoi-Cross)
Yadav, Suraj, MSc Physics, 2007 (K. Vos)
Dahl, Regan, MSc Physics, 2008 (D. Naylor)
Jones, Scott, MSc Physics, 2012 (D. Naylor)
Ibrahim, Amr, MSc Physics, 2011 (A. Predoi-Cross)
Makiwa, Gibion, MSc Physics, 2011 (D. Naylor)
Zhang, Yuan, MSc Physics, 2011 (D. Naylor)
Rahmati, Shohreh, MSc Physics, 2012 (A. Dasgupta)
Sidhu, Steve MSc Physics, 2012 (M.Walton/S. Das)
Nzikou, Michel, MSc Physics, 2013 (B. Seyed-Mahmoud)
Rozario, Hoimonti, MSc Physics, 2013 (A. Predoi-Cross)

PhD Graduates

Spencer, Locke, PhD Earth and Physical Science, 2008 (D. Naylor)
Belchev, Borislav, PhD Physics, 2010 (M. Walton)
Querel, Richard, PhD Physics, 2010 (D. Naylor)
Ali, Ahmed Farag, PhD Physics, 2011 (S. Das)

Professor Mark Walton shown here with the first MSc in Physics from the University of Lethbridge, Cvjetan Jakovljevic, with his wife Radmila and baby Vida. Spring Convocation - 1996.