Meet our Faculty & Staff

Professors

Stefan W Kienzle
Chair

Office: WE2012 (Alberta Water & Env Science Bldg)
Phone: (403) 380-1875
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: stefan.kienzle@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Modelling impacts of environmental change on watershed hydrology; Creation of a digital Hydro-climatological Atlas of Alberta; GIS Applications in Wildlife Habitat and Behaviour

Learn More

     

Rene Barendregt
Faculty

Office: WE2054 (Alberta Water & Env Science Bldg)
Phone: (403) 329-2530
Fax: (403) 329-2016

Research Interests:
Late Cenozoic Paleoenvironments and Magnetostratigraphy; Quaternary geology

Learn More

 

James Byrne
Faculty

Office: WE2014 (Alberta Water & Env Science Bldg)
Phone: (403) 329-2002
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: byrne@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Climate variability and change; hydrometeorology; hydrology; watershed management; watershed processes; hydro climate modelling, impacts and adaptation to climate change in Mountains and in the Caribbean

Learn More

Chris Hopkinson
Faculty

Office: WE2066 (Alberta Water & Env Science Bldg)
Phone: (403) 332-4586
Email: c.hopkinson@uleth.ca

Research Interests: Natural resources assessment and environmental modeling through the integration of GIS and terrestrial, airborne and satellite lidar remote sensing

Learn More

 

Dan Johnson
Faculty

Office: WE1012 (Alberta Water & Env Science Bldg)
Phone: (403) 329-2040
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: dan.johnson@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Canada Research Chair in Sustainable Grassland Ecosystems; semi-arid ecology; population dynamics; forecasting; biological control; spatial and temporal analysis; ecological agriculture; plant-insect-vertebrate interactions; biodiversity, biogeography, biometerology

Learn More

 

Matthew Letts
Faculty

Office: B632 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 317-2842
Email: matthew.letts@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Plant physiological response to environmental stress: riparian woodlands, semiarid grasslands, subalpine forests, Mediterranean forests, neotropical cloud forests, peatlands

Learn More

Ian Maclachlan
Faculty

Office: B872 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2076
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: maclachlan@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Urban Economic, Industrial Restructuring, Intensive Livestock Operations

Learn More

 

Kevin McGeough
Faculty

Office: C862 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 382-7168

Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: mcgekm@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
History, languages, and cultures of the Ancient Near East and Eastern Mediterranean; integrating archaeological and historical evidence in the reconstruction of the past; public and non-specialist interpretations of archaeological data; 19th-century explorations of the Near East

Learn More

Derek Peddle
Faculty

Office: WE2004 (Alberta Water & Env Science Bldg)
Phone: (403) 329-2524
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: derek.peddle@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Remote Sensing and GIS; Spatial Analysis and Computational Methods

Learn More

 

Ivan Townshend
Faculty

Office: C858 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2226
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: towni0@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Social inequality and change in urban Canada; Urban and rural community studies, Privatization of space, Resilience in wildfire communities, Geography of wellbeing and mental health, Urban systems, Quantitative methods in Human and Physical Geography

Learn More

Wei Xu
Faculty

Office: B884 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 332-4561
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: wei.xu@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
China, urban and regional development, labor market dynamics, land use change, water resource management, research methods and GIS

Associate Professors

   

Shawn Bubel
Faculty

Office: B874 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2531
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: bubest@uleth.ca

Research Interests:

Geoarchaeology, Site formation processes, Postdepositional processes, Plains archaeology, Near Eastern archaeology, Lithic analysis, Faunal analysis

Learn More

Craig Coburn
Faculty

Office: WE2002 (Alberta Water & Env Science Bldg)
Phone: (403) 317-2818
Email: craig.coburn@uleth.ca

Research Interests:

Remote Sensing, Bidirectional Reflectance, Airborne Systems

Learn More

 

Hester Jiskoot
Faculty

Office: WE2050 (Alberta Water & Env Science Bldg)
Phone: (403) 329-2739
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: hester.jiskoot@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Glaciology, Ice Flow Dynamics, Glacier-Environment-Climate Interactions, Arctic and Alpine Regions

Learn More

 

Tom Johnston
Faculty

Office: B882 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2534
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: johnston@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Human Dimensions of Environmental Change; Rural Geography and Land-Use

Learn More

 
     

Assistant Professors

 
Philip Bonnaventure

Philip Bonnaventure
Faculty

Office: WE2052 (Alberta Water & Environmental Science Building)

Phone: (403) 317-5028

Email: philip.bonnaventure@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Permafrost in mountain and High Arctic environments, climate change, microclimatology of mountain and boreal environments, geomorphology and Earth surface processes, hydrology, environmental modelling and Geographical Information Systems

Laura Chasmer
Assistant Professor

Office: WE2066 (Alberta Water & Env. Science Bldg.)
Phone: (403) 332-4661
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: laura.chasmer@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
My research interests focus on the influences of vegetation canopy structure and ground surface topography on ecosystem energy balance and CO2 and H2O fluxes within northern Boreal and discontinuous permafrost ecozones. To address these questions, I use a range of remote sensing technologies (including airborne and terrestrial LiDAR, multi-spectral remote sensing, and historical aerial photography), hydro-meteorological equipment, and in situ vegetation measurements.

Learn More

Academic Assistants

 
   

Jacqueline Montain
Academic Assistant (on leave)

Email: j.montain@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Spatial Analysis, Spatial Statistics Spatial Epidemiology, Geomedicine, Public Health, Injection Drug Use, HIV/AIDS

 

Instructors

 

Ariel Pollard-Belsheim
Instructor

Office: C860 (University Hall)
Phone:(403) 329-2486
Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: a.pollardbelsheim@uleth.ca

Research Interests:
Vulnerability and Impact assessments, Great Plains and Maritime Archaeology, Geoarchaeology, Coastal and Fluvial Geomorphology, Fluvial Sustainability

 

 

 

Administrative Support

 
   

Deb Bullock
Assistant to Chair & Faculty

Office: B868 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2225

Fax: (403) 329-2016
Email: bullockd@uleth.ca

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM

 

Adjunct Professors

Willemijn Appels

Expertise is Irrigation Science

willemijn.appels@usask.ca

 

Ron Hall

Expertise is Remote Sensing

ron.hall@nrcan.gc.ca

Roland Kroebel

Expertise is Ecology Modeller

roland.kroebel@agr.gc.ca

 

 

Ryan Macdonald

Expertise is Env/Sci/Hydrology

ryan.macdonald@machydro.ca

 

Ross McKenzie

Expertise is Soils and Irrigated Agriculture

rossmckenzie@shaw.ca

 

Shane Patterson

Expertise is Remote Sensing

pattsj@shaw.ca

 

Trevor Peck

Expertise is Archaeolgoy

trevor.peck@gov.ab.ca

Heinz Pyszczyk

Expertise is Archaeology

heinz.pyszczyk@gov.ab.ca

Nadia Rochdi

Expertise is Remote Sensing

nadia.rochdi@uleth.ca

Anne Smith

Expertise is Remote Sensing Applications for Agriculture

anne.smith@agr.gc.ca

 

Jinkai Zhan

Expertise is Remote Sensing

jinkai.zhan@uleth.ca