Awards and Research Funding

Congratulations to faculty members in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry who have received awards and research awards/grants.


Year Professor


2014 Ute Wieden-Kothe

Distinguished Teaching Award

2013 Greg Patenaude

ULSU Teaching Excellence Award

2012 Roman Przybylski

American Oil Chemists' Society -
Timothy L. Mounts Award

2011 Ute Wieden-Kothe

Alberta Women's Science Network 2011 -
Operation Minerva Mentoring Award

2011 Roman Przybylski

Alberta Food for Health Award -
A Premier's Award

2010 Hans-Joachim Wieden

Distinguished Teaching Award and
ULSU Teaching Excellence Award

2010 Paul Hayes

Confederation of Alberta Faculty Associations -
Distinguished Academic Early Career Award

2009 Paul Hayes Alberta Innovates New Faculty Award
2008 Hans-Joachim Wieden Alberta Ingenuity New Faculty Award

Research Awards/Grants



Award Type


2015 AITF

Ute Wieden-Kothe

AITF Tier II Strategic Chair


2013 AITF

Hans-Joachim Wieden

AITF Chair in Bioengineering


2012 CIHR

Ute Wieden-Kothe

Dissemination Events


2012 CFI Leaders
Opportunity Fund

Michael Gerken,

Paul Hayes &

& Paul Hazendonk



2011 CFI Leaders
Opportunity Fund

Rene Boere & Paul Hayes



2011 CIHR Research

Hans-Joachim Wieden

Operating Grant


2011 ULRF Grant

Ute Wieden-Kothe

Fluorescence Studies of RNA Binding and
Folding by the E. coli pseudouridine synthase TruB


2011 Alberta Innovates
Technology Futures

Hans-Joachim Wieden

Chemistry & Biochemistry