COVID-19 resources | Our faculty and staff are committed to providing you an exceptional learning experience this September.

Kathryn Preuss (BSc '95)

Kathryn Preuss (BSc '95)
2012 Distinguished Alumnus of the Year

 Recognized for her integrity and impassioned approach to research and discovery, Dr. Kathryn Preuss has made significant contributions to the field of chemistry, establishing herself as a leader in the field.

She graduated from the University of Lethbridge with distinction in 1995 with a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry, and received the Faculty of Arts & Science Gold Medal (Science).

Following graduation, she pursued a PhD in inorganic chemistry at the University of Waterloo, which she completed in 2000. She returned to Canada after completing her post-doctoral studies in the United States and is currently an associate professor at the University of Guelph.

In 2009, Preuss was appointed a Tier II Canada Research Chair in the Chemistry of Molecular Materials. Her current research focuses on the rational design and preparation of molecular materials with predictable and/or controllable magnetic properties and has implications in the areas of low-power data storage, sensors and other adaptive technologies.

Already, Preuss has been recognized with honours including the Royal Society of Canada’s Alice Wilson Award, the Natural Science and Engineering Research Council of Canada’s UFA University Faculty Award, and the Ontario Government’s Early Research Award.

The University of Lethbridge Alumni Association is proud to recognize Dr. Kathryn Preuss for her outstanding achievements in scientific research by presenting her with the 2012 Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award.