Teaching Chairs


The Board of Governors Chair in Teaching is a two-year position (with two-course relief per year). Candidates apply through the office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic). As part of the application, candidates submit a teaching-related proposal for the duration of their term.

Teaching Chairs serve on the Teaching Centre Advisory Council, including as Chair of the Council for the second year of their two-year term, and work with the Teaching Centre Council on its projects. One Teaching Chair is awarded per year.

See U of L Institutional Policies & Procedures for Teaching Chair Policy.


Board of Governors Teaching Chair - Lisa Doolittle

A Theatre and Dramatic Arts faculty member at the University of Lethbridge since 1989, Lisa Doolittle combines dance, theatre, community engagement and scholarship to create positive social action through university-community partnerships.

Her research focuses on Canadian multicultural and indigenous dance, and she is currently exploring how art can positively impact society.

She expands learning outside the classroom through initiatives such as the biannual student trip she co-leads to Malawi to develop theatre-based and student-delivered malaria and HIV/AIDS prevention programs in rural schools.

Lisa Doolittle is a member of the University’s Inclusive Education Working Group, and has led university-community collaborations with Blackfoot students, refugees, immigrants and people with developmental disabilities in Alberta.

She has volunteered extensively for the university, for example, by chairing the Faculty Association’s Academic Welfare Committee, serving on committees such as University Budget and Teaching Development, and facilitating workshops with the Teaching Centre.

Lisa Doolittle has published several book chapters, journal and media articles, delivered many conference and community presentations, and volunteers for scholarly arts organizations. Outside of academia, she works as a choreographer, director and writer on numerous productions in Alberta and internationally.


Past Recipients:

2014 Sheila McManus (History)
2013 Harold Jansen (Political Science)
2012 Lance Grigg (Education)
2011 Janice Newberry (Anthropology)
2010 Robin Bright (Education)
2009 Hillary Rodrigues (Religious Studies)
2008 Rick Mrazek (Education)
2007 Shelly Wismath (Mathematics and Computer Science)