U of L Alumni Assocation elects new president and members

It was a symbolic passing of the torch moment as the University of Lethbridge Alumni Association (ULAA) elected a new president to start its next 50 years.

Michael Gabriel (BA ’04) will take on the position of president for 2017-18, succeeding Randy Kobbert (BMgt ’86). Gabriel previously served as vice president.

“We are very grateful to Randy for his commitment to our alumni and the ULAA over the last two years,” says Alumni Relations Manager Lyndsay Montina (BMgt ’09). “We are very excited to welcome Michael to the role of ULAA president as well as welcome and welcome back the new and returning members. We're so grateful to each of these individuals who are generously sharing their time and expertise with us.”

The executive members were voted in at the ULAA annual general meeting on June 13 at the U of L’s Dr. Foster James Penny Building downtown.

Newly elected to the ULAA executive are a pair of former University of Lethbridge Students’ Union executives and recent graduates. Brenna Scott (BA ’16), former SU president, was elected to serve as vice president, and Michael Gale (BSc ’17), former former VP of Finance, will serve as treasurer for the upcoming year. They will join former ULSU president Matthew McHugh (BA ’03), who is serving as a director.

Another new addition to the executive is anti-bullying advocate and ULAA Honour Society inductee Manwar Khan (BSc ’07). Khan, based in Edmonton, will be the first member of the executive to reside outside of the Lethbridge area.

Returning executive members include Ted Likuski (BEd ’74), who has been on the executive since 2005, and Mike Bruised Head (BASc (BA) ’80, BEd ’98), head of the FNMI Chapter. Joining Bruised Head as part of the FNMI representation will be Neal Shade (BASc ’09), an IT manager at Red Crow Community College.

Rounding out the elected members of the executive will be secretary Jason Elliott (BMgt ’95) and directors Diane Randell (BN ’91), Joey Baranyay (BMgt ’10) and Neil Boyden (BASc ’73, BEd ’85, MEd ’94). Joining them are appointed members including University Liaison Director Heather Harty (BMgt ’14), Young Alumni Director Sarah Harper (BMgt ’16), Alumni Relations Manager Lyndsay Montina (BMgt ’09), Board of Governors Representative Richard Masson (BMgt ’92), USLU Representative Hailey Babb, Graduate Students’ Association Representative Brendan Cummins (BA ’16), and Calgary Chapter President Gillian Ayers (BA ’10, MA ’12). Honorary, non-voting members include Dr. Mike Mahon as Honorary President, Nancy Walker (BMgt ’82) as Honorary Treasurer and Janice Varzari (BN ’09, MEd ’02) as Honorary Director.

Since its inception, the ULAA has strived to provide the more than 42,000 U of L alumni around the world with a continued connection to the wider U of L community. The ULAA currently has chapters for alumni in Calgary and Edmonton as well as an FNMI chapter.