Things You Should Know

The Calendar and the Class Schedules/Timetable

The Calendar contains all the academic rules and requirements. Course descriptions for all legislated courses are also included. You should use the Calendar as a reference for important information and talk to an academic advisor if you have questions.

In the Class Schedules/Timetable, you will find all courses which are offered in a given semester. Information is included regarding sections, labs, tutorials, as well as the dates, times, locations, instructors, and special notes for each of the course components.

Information regarding prerequisites and corequisites is found in both the online Class Schedules/Timetable and in the Calendar.


Both Faculties and Schools are formal subdivisions within the University. They develop, approve, and administer the programs and courses relating to the specific degrees/credentials they offer. Faculties and Schools are similar, but Faculties tend to have more students. At the University of Lethbridge, there are six Faculties and Schools: Faculty of Arts and Science, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Fine Arts, Faculty of Health Sciences, Faculty of Management, and School of Graduate Studies.


A program is the broad category that defines your degree/diploma/certificate. It is composed of all the requirements you need in order to successfully graduate. Some examples of University of Lethbridge programs include Master of Science, Bachelor of Fine Arts (Dramatic Arts), Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Education, and Certificate in Management.


Some programs will require you to complete additional requirements in order to qualify for admission to that program. For example, the Faculty of Education requires the completion of specific courses during which time you are considered a Pre-Education student. You must formally apply for admission to the Faculty of Education when you complete the admission requirements.

If you have the intention of completing some or all of your University of Lethbridge degree and then continuing on to a professional program at another university, you are considered a Pre-Professional Transfer Student. However, you would still have a University of Lethbridge program of study. Examples of this would be Dentistry (Bachelor of Science), and Medicine (Bachelor of Science).


A major is the specific area of study in your program and will determine many of your required courses. Examples of majors include Accounting, Art, Economics, Philosophy, Physics, and Sociology.


A secondary specialization in your program which is outside of your major could be called a minor or a concentration. Minors and concentrations are not available in every program.