WNRCASN Nursing Education Research Award

The WNRCASN Research Award was launched in 1998 by the Western Region Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing Executive and its members. The first award was granted in 1999. WNRCASN has extended this initial award to include a Teaching Innovation Award and a Graduate Student Research Award. All awards are available to WNRCASN members only. The WNRCASN Research Award is intended to support the research activities of WNRCASN members who wish to investigate issues related to nursing education. Research within this focus may be directed to any aspect of nursing education, issues of importance to faculty members or students, strategies pertaining to teaching and learning, or curricular challenges.


1. Applicants must be faculty members who hold active membership in WNRCASN as of September of the applicant year or prior to submission of the application.

2. The proposed research must relate to nursing education.

3. This award is intended to fund nursing education research proposals.

4. Proposals that arise from graduate studies are not eligible for the WNRCASN Research Award. Faculty members who are members of WNRCASN and are also graduate students may apply to the Graduate Student Research Award to fund their theses or dissertations. Graduate students studying at a WNRCASN-affiliated educational institution (and who are members of WNRCASN) may also apply for the Graduate Student Research Award.

Note: If for any reason, the successful applicant cannot complete the project within two years, the award will not be deferred. In those circumstances, the award must be relinquished and the second-ranked applicant will be offered the award.



Agency Name: 
Western & North-Western Region Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing (WNRCASN)
Contact Name: 
Penny D'Agnone
Grant Amount: 
One research award will be funded up to $5000. It is expected that the research will be completed within a two-year period.
Grant Location: 
External Deadline: 
Monday, December 11, 2017
Grant Type: 
Grant Area: 
Grant Eligibility: