Meet Our Researchers

Endowed or Sponsored Chairs

Endowed chairs are established with a sizeable gift to an academic area designated by the donor or by sponsoring agency. The endowment provides continuing support for an established field of study or provides the impetus for a new emphasis or area of research.

Dr. Brenda Leung

Emmy Droog Chair in Complementary and Alternative Health Care
Faculty of Health Sciences
Appointed July 2014

Dr. Bruce McNaughton

Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research Polaris Research Chair
Department of Neuroscience

Dr. Darren Christensen

Alberta Gambling Research Institute (AGRI) Chair in Gambling
Faculty of Health Sciences

Dr. Hans-Joachim Wieden

Alberta Innovates Technology Futures Strategic Chair in (RNA) Bioengineering
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
2013 to 2018

Dr. Olga Kovalchuk (Biological Sciences)

Canadian Institutes of Health Research Chair in Gender, Work and Health
Term: 2013/14-2017/18

Dr. Kovalchuk previously held a CIHR Research Chair in New Perspectives in Gender, Sex, and Health (2008 to 2013)

Dr. Susan McDaniel

Prentice Research Chair in Global Population and Economy
Department of Sociology
Appointed in July 2009

Dr. Ute Wieden-Kothe

Alberta Innovates Technology Futures Tier II Strategic Chair in Transcriptomics of RNA
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry