New Core Members 2017

As of January 1, 2017, I-CYS welcomes two new core members, Dr. Erin Spring and Dr. Jeffrey MacCormack. 

Dr. Erin Spring is currently an Instructor in Academic Writing and Liberal Education at the University of Lethbridge. She was the first I-CYS Postdoctoral Fellow from 2014 to August 2016, and will be returning for a final year as the I-CYS postdoc in January 2017. She received her PhD in Education from the University of Cambridge in 2014. Erin’s interdisciplinary work straddles the fields of children’s literature, child and youth studies, and children's geographies. She was the 2015 recipient of IBBY Canada’s Frances E Russell grant for her current work with Blackfoot readers in southern Alberta. Her most recent publications can be found in Children’s Geographies, Jeunesse: Young People, Texts, Cultures, and Children’s Literature in Education. Learn more about Erin's work with Blackfoot Youth here:

Dr. Jeffrey MacCormack is new to Alberta but he and his family are already settling comfortably into the new home – and meeting some wonderful people. He recently finished his Ph.D. in Education at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. Besides the teaching he is doing here at the University of Lethbridge, he has 10 years of experience teaching elementary students, and four years teaching undergraduate students and practicing teachers in Ontario. He has conducted research on social play, autism spectrum disorder, emotional well-being, and youth development. Currently, he is collaborating with Dr. Robbin Gibb at the Department of Neuroscience to look at a play-based intervention (Lego building blocks) for children and youth with difficulty socializing and regulating emotions. Jeffrey is also extremely excited to be affiliated with the multidisciplinary group, Institute for Child & Youth Studies (I-CYS). He has a passion for learning, teaching, growing, and is eager to develop in his new role as Assistant Professor of Educational Psychology and Inclusion at the Faculty of Education.

I-CYS is grateful for the 4-year terms of founding members Drs. Janay Nugent and Amy von Heyking who have resigned from the I-CYS core as of January 2017, but continue to be affiliates of the institute.