Animal Welfare Committee

The Animal Welfare Committee has the authority, on behalf of the University to:

  1. Ensure that any objectionable procedures be stopped if, in consultation with the veterinarian, the Animal Welfare Committee considers that unnecessary pain and distress is being experienced by the animal.
  2. Ensure that any use of animals be stopped which, by deviating from the approved protocol, causes the animals to experience undue pain and distress.
  3. Ensure that an animal be humanely killed if, in consultation with the veterinarian, the Animal Welfare Committee feels that pain or distress caused to the animal cannot be alleviated.

AWC Terms of Reference


1 Community Representative
Katie Johnston  


RJ Balog  


1 Faculty Member from a Department other than those using animals
Ian McAdam (English)   01-09-2015 to 31-08-2019
1 Representative from Occupational Health & Safety
Lorna Selinger   Ongoing
1 Veterinarian
Isabelle Gauthier (ex officio)   Ongoing
3 Faculty members experienced in research animal care and use, from Neuroscience, Biological Sciences, and Psychology
Cam Goater (Biological Sciences)   01-01-2017 to 31-08-2018
Masami Tatsuno (Neuroscience)   01-07-2017 to 30-06-2019
Paul Vasey (Psychology) - Chair   01-09-2014 to 31-08-2018
A student representative
vacant (Biological Sciences)   01-09-2014 to 31-08-2015
vacant (Neuroscience)    
Scott Semenyna (Psychology)   01-09-2015 to 31-12-2017
A technical staff representative
Karen Dow-Cazal, Animal Care Technician, CCBN  

01-09-2004 to 31-08-2016

Holly Macdonald, Aquatic Research Facility Technician, ARF  

01-09-2015 to 31-08-2016

Research Services
Susan Entz, AWC Coordinator (ex officio)   Ongoing

Membership Terms:
The University Animal Welfare Committee (AWC) includes representation from the following areas:

  1. Three faculty members, experienced in research animal care and use, from departments conducting research with animals. Faculty members should be from Neuroscience, Biological Sciences and Psychology.
  2. A faculty member from a Department other than those using animals.
  3. A representative from Safety Services.
  4. A veterinarian, experienced in the use of animals for research (ex officio).
  5. A non-University member representing the community interests and concerns.
  6. A technical staff representative from the animal research facilities.
  7. A student representative.
  8. The AWC Coordinator (ex officio)
    • Other individuals may be asked to review the protocols as the need arises. A Chair is elected annually. The Chair should not be an ex officio member, nor be directly involved in the management of the institutional animal facilities, nor be a clinical veterinarian for the institution, nor be an animal health or veterinary personnel member charged with ensuring compliance with CCAC guidelines, nor be involved in the preparation of a significant number of the protocols to be reviewed by the Committee, in order to avoid potential conflicts of interest.
    • Committee members are appointed by the Vice President, Research for two-year periods, with terms staggered to provide continuity. Normally, terms may be renewed once.

Normally, two year alternating terms. The Committee reports through the Vice President, Research to the President.

Misc. Information:
Quorum = 50%+1 (must include the Chair, Veterinarian, a Community Representative and the AWC Coordinator)


Animal Welfare Approval Form

Canadian Council on Animal Care