News & Notes for December 2006
News & Notes for December 2006

This notice is from the archives of The Notice Board. Information contained in this notice was accurate at the time of publication but may no longer be so.

December 1, 2006


Programmed for a Challenge

Six University of Lethbridge teams took on eight teams from the universities of Alberta and Calgary in the 2006 Alberta Collegiate Programming Contest on Oct. 14. The team of Brett Peake, Curtis Van Osch and Thomas Xiong placed third and were the highest-ranking U of L team, followed by fourth-place finishers Trevor Banack, Travis Hulstein and Garret Johnson. Another U of L team finished ninth and the remaining teams tied for 10th. Alumnus Zac Friggstad (BSc ’05) was on the winning team from the University of Alberta.
The team of Darin McGee, Matthew Rogers and Amy Smith and the two top-finishing U of L teams from the Oct. 14 contest travelled to Saskatoon, SK, for the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Rocky Mountain Regional Programming Contest on Oct. 28. The U of L teams placed 17th, 18th and 26th out of the 53 teams in the region.

U of L coach Dr. Howard Cheng (Mathematics and Computer Science) holds year-round computer programming training sessions with students. “It’s great to work with students who like to challenge themselves. The competition gives them an opportunity to apply what they have learned in class in interesting and clever ways,” says Cheng.

Nominate a Distinguished Teacher or Researcher
The U of L is calling for nominations for its 2007 teaching and research awards. The Distinguished Teaching Award is open to all full- and part-time members of the academic staff who have taught during some part of the 2006/2007 academic year. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 9, 2007. The Ingrid Speaker Medal for Distinguished Research, Scholarship or Performance is open to all full- and part-time members of the academic staff currently employed at the University of Lethbridge — or in the case of retired academic staff members, to those who have a contract agreement with the University. The deadline date for nominations is Feb. 28, 2007. Nomination forms for both awards are available from the President’s Office, which can be reached by phone at 403-329-2201 or online at

Bookstore Raises money for Charity

The Bookstore’s Tree of Knowledge sold for $3,100 at the Lethbridge Regional Hospital (LRH) Foundation’s Christmas Tree Festival Gala Auction on Nov. 15. Representatives from Davis Pontiac Buick successfully bid on the book- and merchandise-laden tree. A separate collection of autographed Robert Munsch books raised $150. The 37 trees and other items sold at the event raised more than $63,000 for the LRH Foundation. Volunteers who decorated the tree included Trade Book Buyer Stacey Gaudette; Trade Book Buyer Kari Tanaka; Dr. Robin Bright (Education) and her daughter Erin; and Bookstore Manager Annette Bright, her spouse Michael Bright and children Emily and Michelle.

Partnership Brings Improved Public Health Initiatives to South African Schools

Three southern Alberta educational institutions are partnering with the South African Department of Education and other South African organizations to empower rural communities in the provision of basic water, sanitation and public hygiene. The School-Based Water and Sanitation Project was recently announced as part of the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) Canadian College Partnership Program (CCPP).

Representatives from Lethbridge Community College will provide oversight for the $397,000 project as well as worker training and the construction of water treatment and improved sanitation facilities at schools. Representatives from the U of L’s School of Health Sciences (Nursing) will assist with public health programming by choosing a third-year nursing student to travel to South Africa to participate in health promotion activities. Red Crow Community College representatives facilitated a cultural exchange for visiting South African officials in Lethbridge at the end of November.

The U of L Joins Fulbright Scholarship Family

The U of L has the opportunity to host a visiting Fulbright Scholar thanks to a recently signed agreement. U of L officials and Tom Huffaker, the Calgary-based United States Consul General for Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and the Northwest Territories, has announced the creation of the U of L’s first Canada-U.S. Fulbright Visiting Research Chair in Water and the Environment. Dr. Derek Peddle (Geography) and Dr. Geoffrey Hale (Political Science) are former Fulbright Scholarship recipients. To learn more about the Fulbright program, please visit

U of L Communications and Public Relations Contact:
Communications and PR Officer (403) 382-7173

Back to the Notice Board