Fall 2006 Honorary Degree Recipients
Fall 2006 Honorary Degree Recipients

This notice is from the archives of The Notice Board. Information contained in this notice was accurate at the time of publication but may no longer be so.

October 1, 2006


The fall 2006 honorary degree recipients are:

The Hon. Catherine A. Fraser, Doctor of Laws

The Honourable Catherine A. Fraser, chief justice of Alberta, is known for her work to improve the delivery of justice and the judicial system. She was the first female chief justice of a Canadian province when she was appointed in 1992.

Fraser is recognized for her work to establish the Alberta Court of Appeal as a jurisprudential leader in Canada. She has played an influential role in developing and delivering judicial education, particularly on social justice issues.

Blaine Thacker, Doctor of Laws

Blaine Thacker, QC, has served the community and the University of Lethbridge with great dedication.

He chaired the U of L Board of Governors from 1974 to 1978. In 1979, he was elected as a member of Parliament for the Lethbridge Foothills constituency, and he was re-elected in 1980, 1984 and 1988. Since 1998, Thacker has spent time in Vietnam as an instructor in the faculty of law in Can Tho city. He also serves as an Alberta sitting justice of the peace with the provincial court.

U of L Communications and Public Relations Contact:
Communications and PR Officer (403) 382-7173

Back to the Notice Board