Alumni Honour Society


The University of Lethbridge takes a great pride in the success of our alumni and, with close to 41,000 alumni worldwide, there are many reasons to celebrate.

To mark the University's 35th Anniversary in 2002, the University of Lethbridge Alumni Association established the Alumni Honour Society to recognize the achievements of a select group of alumni each year. The individuals honoured serve as role models through success in their vocation, outstanding community service or superior accomplishment in their avocation.

Nominations for the Alumni Honour Society are being accepted. Nominations can be forwarded to:

University of Lethbridge Alumni Association
c/o Alumni Relations
University of Lethbridge
4401 University Dr W
Lethbridge, AB T1K 3M4

Download nomination form [PDF]

2016 Alumni Honour Society Inductees

Like those before them, the 2016 inductees are outstanding examples of U of L alumni. Each of the individuals being honoured used the knowledge they gained at the University to achieve their personal and professional goals, and through these achievements has left a lasting impact on the people, organizations and communities with which they are involved.


Steve Craig, BMgt ’99

In his current role as director of external relations and student professional development in the Faculty of Management, Steve Craig has a diverse slate of responsibilities, ranging from running the highly successful Management Co-Op Program to overseeing fundraising and sponsored events, and working with Faculty’s external stakeholders.


Patrick C. Forrest, BMgt ’92

Patrick Forrest has been employed in the investment industry for many years and currently serves as vice-president & associate portfolio manager at BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc. He currently holds the Chartered Investment Manager (CIM) designation, and has also been awarded the designation of Fellow of the Canadian Securities Institute (FCSI), the highest designation within the Canadian Investment industry. Forrest is also a dedicated volunteer and fundraiser.


Kathy Lewis, BN ’83, MEd ’99

After completing her nursing degree, Kathy Lewis was involved in the development of palliative care, continuing care and sexuality education in Lethbridge and area, establishing herself as a well-respected nursing educator. She has served on community boards and worked with volunteer groups


Ryan MacDonald, BSc ’06, MSc ’09, PhD ’14

Dr. Ryan MacDonald’s work on catchment-scale hydrological processes and aquatic ecosystems has played a lead role in the development and application of process-based hydrological models for mountain watersheds. MacDonald works regularly with government, industry, First Nations, and NGO clients in Alberta and British Columbia. He continues to collaborate with the University of Lethbridge as an adjunct assistant professor, serving on graduate student committees.


Reed Spencer, BEd ’83

Reed Spencer is perhaps best known as the sculptor of The Buffalo, which stands atop the coulee south of University Hall. A talented artist, Spencer pursued various artistic methods and mediums over the years while spending his professional career as an educator. Spencer has also dedicated countless hours to sport development in our community, helping found both the Lethbridge Elks baseball program and the Prairie Baseball Academy, earning him recognition in the Lethbridge Sports Hall of Fame.


James Wade, BFA ’11

James Wade has established himself as an important new and emerging voice in Canadian playwriting. He has written one full-length dramatic piece and several one-act plays, including two pieces written as an undergraduate student that earned him the top prize in the U of L’s Play Right Competition. In the few short years since he graduated, his work has been performed both regionally and nationally, and he has been recognized with awards from the Ottawa Little Theatre National Playwriting Competition and the Alberta Playwriting Competition.


View past recipients