2016 Cor Van Raay Agribusiness Case Competition - Results

This past weekend marked the second annual Cor Van Raay Agribusiness Case Competition hosted in partnership by the University of Lethbridge and Lethbridge College. The competition had 50 student participants and was a two-day event held on Friday and Saturday.

Participants of the 2016 Cor Van Raay Agirbusiness Case Competition

The case competition is a result of a $5 million donation by local agricultural entrepreneur Cor Van Raay.  Teams from the University of Saskatchewan, Medicine Hat College, and Lakeland College were formed at their respective schools. Lethbridge teams were comprised of a mixture of University and Lethbridge and Lethbridge College students.


1st Place Team (left to right, Davis Weber, Madison Hunter, Jacquelyn Walker, Ward Marshall)

1st Place Team (Lethbridge Team)

  • Davis Weber (University of Lethbridge)
  • Jacquelyn Walker (University of Lethbridge)
  • Madison Hunter (Lethbridge College)
  • Ward Marshall  (University of Lethbridge)

2nd Place Team (Medicine Hat College)

  • Colton Eremenko
  • Ashley Herrmann
  • Mila Joubert
  • Lorene Entz
  • Jordan Pomrenke

3rd Place Team (Lethbridge Team)

  • Rachel Reurink (University of Lethbridge)
  • Jessica Giles (Lethbridge College)
  • Chad Neville (University of Lethbridge)
  • Zachary Wigand (Lethbridge College)

Industry sponsors for the event included MacLachlan McNab Hembroff LLP, Cargill, Dow AgroSciences, Lethbridge County, North & Company LLP, Scotiabank Agriculture Banking, Southern Irrigation, Viterra, MNP LLP, UFA, Alltech, Economic Development Lethbridge, Exhibition Park, Farm Credit Canada, Peavey Mart, Potato Growers of Alberta