Public Health

What is Public Health?
Public Health focuses on the prevention of disease; it aims to promote and protect the health of Canadians and populations across the globe. The U of L offers the only undergraduate degree in public health in Alberta. Completion of the program will earn you a Bachelor of Health Sciences degree.

The core of our work in public health is to take steps to prevent chronic and infectious disease before it occurs. Come be part of this exciting and rapidly expanding field and have a positive influence on your world!


All applicants must meet the Faculty of Health Sciences Spoken English Language Proficiency requirement. 

Hands-on Experience

You may choose to complete a practicum, co-op, or applied studies course to gain valuable experience in local, national or international public health practice. Many of our graduates have found immediate success in the job market because of the practical experience they have gained in our program.


Public Health Career Paths
A career in public health can include designing and implementing programs that promote health, collecting and analyzing health data, and shaping policy. Graduates in public health often work for governments, private-sector and non-profit organizations. Career opportunities focus in areas such as: 

• Aboriginal and Immigrant Health    
• Epidemiology and Biostatistics
• Environmental Health
• Health Policy
• Health Promotion
• Health Services Administration
• Infectious Disease Control
• Global Health
• Program Management and Evaluation
• Wellbeing/Healthy Eating

Events Calendar

Wednesday, July 23, 2014 (All day)
Friday, August 1, 2014 (All day)
Monday, August 4, 2014 (All day)
Friday, August 15, 2014 (All day)
Monday, August 18, 2014 (All day)
Tuesday, August 19, 2014 (All day)
Monday, August 25, 2014 (All day)
Thursday, August 28, 2014 (All day)
Monday, September 1, 2014 (All day)
Tuesday, September 2, 2014 (All day)