SGS Governing Principles (as of Dec 10, 2012)

V. Program Chairs Committee

Membership of Program Chairs Committee | Potential Areas of Oversight and Responsibility

The Program Chairs Committee (PCC) provides a forum for cross-program discussion of program-level processes and procedures to move program-level initiatives forward and provide quality control and consistency across graduate programs at the University of Lethbridge.

Membership of Program Chairs Committee

  • Dean of Graduate Studies (Chair)
  • Program Chair, MA (or designate)
  • Program Chair, MFA/MMus (or designate).
  • Program Chair, MSc (or designate).
  • Program Chair, PhD (or designate).
  • Director, Management Graduate Programs (or designate).
  • Assistant Dean, Graduate Programs in Education (or designate).
  • Coordinator, MSc in Health Sciences (or designate).

Note: Other members may be added as new program areas or program committees are developed.

Potential Areas of Oversight and Responsibility

These may include but are not limited to:

  • Admission processes.
  • Application processes.
  • Examination and defence processes.
  • Post-admission monitoring of student progress.
  • SGS policies related to program administration.
  • Graduate academic regulations (SGS Calendar).

The PCC was originally created as an ad hoc committee by the Vice-President (Academic) in June of 2010 and was approved by Graduate Council on May 12, 2011 as a standing committee of the School of Graduate Studies.