Meet Our Faculty & Staff

Our department includes an incredible group of professors, all with national and international reputations for their scholarship.  Faculty members have recently published articles and chapters in a wide range of different journals and books, including The Wiley Companion to Greek Warfare; the medieval history journal Storicamente; Nine Centuries of Man: Manhood and Masculinities in Scottish History; Fighting with the Empire: Canada, Britain, and Global Conflict, 1867-1947; and The Routledge History of the Twentieth Century United States. We’ve presented our research at conferences from Regina to Montreal; Pullman, Washington to Tuscaloosa, Alabama; and around the world in Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, New Zealand and China. Our geographical strengths are in western European and North American History but we also offer courses in World History and Asian History, and our temporal expertise stretches from the Ancient World to the twentieth century. There are lots of opportunities for students to get involved in faculty research projects, including through the Center for Oral History and Tradition (COHT), and the Institute for Child and Youth Studies (I-CYS). We are particularly proud of our colleague and I-CYS director, Dr. Kristine Alexander, whose book Guiding Modern Girls: Girlhood, Empire, and Internationalism in the 1920s and 1930s, won the prestigious Wilson Book Prize in the spring of 2018. And at the Spring 2018 Convocation Ceremonies, Dr. Sheila McManus became the third member of the department to receive the University's Distinguished Teaching Award.

Faculty Members

Kristine Alexander

CRC Chair & Associate Professor

Office: B880 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 332-4623
Email: kristine.alexander@uleth.ca

Learn More

 

 
Christopher Burton
Associate Professor
Office: C864 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 394-3948
Email: christopher.burton@uleth.ca

Learn More

 

 

Christopher Epplett

Associate Professor
Office: C868 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-5143
Fax: (403) 329-5108
Email: christopher.epplett@uleth.ca

Learn More

 

Cindy Ermus

Assistant Professor
Office: C-856
Phone: (403) 380-1893
Fax: (403) 329-5108
Email: cindy.ermus@uleth.ca

Learn more

 

Gideon Fujiwara
Assistant Professor, Director of Asian Studies
Office: B876 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2502
Email: gideon.fujiwara@uleth.ca
 
Learn more
 
 
 
Professor David Hay
David Hay
Associate Professor
Office: C870 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2421
Email: david.hay@uleth.ca

Learn More

 

 
Christopher Hosgood
Professor, History Dept and Dean of Health Sciences
Office: M3090 (Markin Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2676

Learn More

 
Lynn Kennedy
Associate Professor
Office: C852 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2546
Fax: (403) 329-5108
Email: lynn.kennedy@uleth.ca

Learn More

 

 
Heidi MacDonald
Associate Professor
Office: C854 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2544
Email: heidi.macdonald@uleth.ca

Learn More

 

 
Sheila McManus
Professor, Acting Chair 2018-2019
Office: C872 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2540
Email: sheila.mcmanus@uleth.ca

Learn More

 

 
Janay Nugent
Associate Professor
Office: B888 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 380-1822
Email: nugejb00@uleth.ca

Learn More

 

Amy Shaw
Associate Professor
Office: C850 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 329-2543
Email: amy.shaw@uleth.ca
 
Learn More
 
 
Carol Williams
Professor, Director of COHT
Cross-appointed with Women and Gender Studies
Office: B886 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 380-1818
Fax: (405) 329-2555
Email: carol.williams@uleth.ca

Learn More

 

Administrative Support

 

Bev Garnett
Administrative Assistant

Office: A-812 (University Hall)
Phone: (403) 380-1894
Email: bev.garnett@uleth.ca

About Me: