Meet Our Faculty & Staff

Our department includes an incredible group of professors, all with national and international reputations for their scholarship.  Faculty members have recently published articles and chapters in a wide range of different journals and books, including The Wiley Companion to Greek Warfare; the medieval history journal Storicamente; Nine Centuries of Man: Manhood and Masculinities in Scottish History; Fighting with the Empire: Canada, Britain, and Global Conflict, 1867-1947; and The Routledge History of the Twentieth Century United States. We’ve presented our research at conferences from Regina to Montreal; Pullman, Washington to Tuscaloosa, Alabama; and around the world in Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, New Zealand and China. Our geographical strengths are in western European and North American History but we also offer courses in World History and Asian History, and our temporal expertise stretches from the Ancient World to the twentieth century. There are lots of opportunities for students to get involved in faculty research projects, including through the Center for Oral History and Tradition (COHT), and the Institute for Child and Youth Studies (I-CYS). We are particularly proud of our colleague and I-CYS director, Dr. Kristine Alexander, whose book Guiding Modern Girls: Girlhood, Empire, and Internationalism in the 1920s and 1930s, won the prestigious Wilson Book Prize in the spring of 2018. And at the Spring 2018 Convocation Ceremonies, Dr. Sheila McManus became the third member of the department to receive the University's Distinguished Teaching Award.

 

Kristine Alexander

CRC Chair & Associate Professor
Office: B880 (University Hall)
(403) 332-4623
kristine.alexander@uleth.ca

Christopher Burton

Associate Professor and Chair
Office: C864 (University Hall)
(403) 394-3948
christopher.burton@uleth.ca

Bev Garnett

Administrative Assistant
Office: A-812 (University Hall)
(403) 380-1894
bev.garnett@uleth.ca

Amy Shaw

Associate Professor
Office: C850 (University Hall)
(403) 329-2543
amy.shaw@uleth.ca

Carol Williams

Professor, Director of COHT Cross-appointed with Women and Gender Studies
Office: B886 (University Hall)
(403) 380-1818
carol.williams@uleth.ca

Christopher Epplett

Associate Professor
Office: C868 (University Hall)
(403) 329-5143
christopher.epplett@uleth.ca

Christopher Hosgood

Professor, History Dept and Dean of Health Sciences Office: M3090 (Markin Hall) (403) 329-2676

Craig Cooper

Faculty
Office: A560 (University Hall)
(403) 329-5101
craig.cooper@uleth.ca

David Hay

Associate Professor
Office: C870 (University Hall)
(403) 329-2421
david.hay@uleth.ca

Gideon Fujiwara

Associate Professor and Asian Studies Coordinator
Office: B876 (University Hall)
(403) 329-2502
gideon.fujiwara@uleth.ca  

Janay Nugent

Associate Professor
Office: B888 (University Hall)
(403) 380-1822
nugejb00@uleth.ca

Lynn Kennedy

Associate Professor
Office: C852 (University Hall)
(403) 329-2546
lynn.kennedy@uleth.ca

Sheila McManus

Professor
Office: C872 (University Hall)
(403) 329-2540
sheila.mcmanus@uleth.ca