Several Professors from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Lethbridge contribute to both the delivery of the Biochemistry Program and cutting-edge, award-winning Research within the field.

Dr. Ute Kothe - Biochemistry of ribosome biogenesis and tRNA maturation biochemical, biophysical and molecular biology investigations on RNA modification and RNA folding in bacteria and eukaryotes.

Dr. Steven Mosimann - Structure and Function of RNA Processing. This laboratory determines atomic resolution, 3D structures (pictures) of proteins that are of medical and biological significance. These structures allow us to understand how these proteins function and contribute to the development of new medicines and biotechnology products.

Dr. Trushar Patel - Biomolecular Interactions: The unifying theme of my research is to study multi-domain proteins, protein-nucleic acids and protein-protein complexes that affect various cellular processes.

Dr. Nehalkumar Thakor - Research areas include Metabolic engineering, RNA synthetic biology, protein translation regulation in oncogenesis.

Dr. Hans-Joachim Wieden - Study functional and structural dynamics of protein biosynthesis in E-coli; focusing on two aspects of translation machinery - Kinetics and structural dynamics; Ribosomal proteins.

Dr. Athanasios Zovoilis - is a rising star in RNA bioinformatics and genomics, whose research vision is inspired by convergence of human genetics with recent advances in RNA biochemistry and computational sciences.

Dr. Wade Abbott is an Adjunct Professor in the Dept of Chem & Bchm at the UofL and a Research Scientist at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. He uses various approaches such as structural biology, functional genomics, and enzymology to investigate glycobiological questions. The overall theme of Dr. Abbott’s research program is to illuminate how microbial proteins recognize and modify carbohydrate structures during host-symbiont interactions.