The University employs a letter system for grading, which was revised in Fall of 1988 to include “+” and “-” scheme. The letter grade is converted to grade points for use in calculating grade point average, a measure of overall academic performance.

Letter grade:   Grade points:
A+   4.0
A Excellent 4.0
A-   3.7
B+   3.3
B Good 3.0
B-   2.7
C+   2.3
C Satisfactory 2.0
C-   1.7
D+ Poor 1.3
D Minimal Pass 1.0
F Failure 0.0
WF Withdrawal/Fail 0.0

Note: The Withdrawal/Failure Designation became effective May 1, 1992. It is assigned when a students withdraws from a course but has already reached the legislated maximum number of individual course withdrawals.

Non-grade Designations:
AU - Audit
AI - Administrative Incomplete
I - Incomplete
W - All withdrawals
X - May be either Continuing or Permanent
CR - Credit
NC - Non-credit
P - Pass

Grade Point Average (GPA): For an individual student GPA is calculated by multiplying the grade points assigned to each grade by the weighting factor for each course. The total of the weighted grade points is then divided by the sum of the course weighting factors. GPA may be expressed for one semester only (Current GPA), or for the complete University of Lethbridge course history of a student (Cumulative GPA).